What the hell is in the water around here. I have no idea what happened or why, but a week ago just about everybody became a terrible tipper. We get a metric ton of verbal tips (high praise and ten percent of the tab) and a metric ton of people who are outright cheap. Fifteen and twenty percent tips are about unheard of.

And it's not just me, either. It's the whole restaurant. I should talk with servers at other restaurants, see if it's the same there.

I worked for six hours tonight and came home with $45. That's a bit more than 10% of my $427 in sales.

It's been $60 tips off $650 sales, $40 tips off $497 sales...and I'm not doing anything differently. I'm still making money, yes, but the amount of money I'm making is not proportionate to the amount of ass I'm busting making sure these tables are fed and happy. Needless to say, it's frustrating.

That, and I went in today on my day off because we were expecting a rush, and said rush never came...yeah. I work tomorrow and Tuesday too.

And then on Wednesday [livejournal.com profile] amorsinseramada comes down and life gets awesome. :D

In the meantime, I'm off to DC to go write some incredibly depressing stuff involving J. Why are all my muses so ridiculously headstrong, especially when they're in trouble...? |D

From: [identity profile] tafkae.livejournal.com


That's weird, I've been making crappy tips too! Although that may be skewed since I keep getting stuck in drive thru.

From: [identity profile] deltashade.livejournal.com


If I ever go to your restaurant, I am tipping 30% at least. (I am the best tipper in New Jersey. Also the only tipper in New Jersey.)

From: [identity profile] ghettopeach.livejournal.com


Eeesh. I'd say, blame the economy, but the economy is not an excuse. (At least, not for poor tipping, though it could be a legitimate excuse for lower volume.) If you can't afford to eat out and tip appropriately, don't eat out.

I always forget to account for tipping when going out (a thing of the past), so I am always surprised at what I wind up spending (plus everything is so EXPENSIVE nowadays). Still, I always tip at least 15%, because THAT IS WHAT YOU DO. WHY IS THIS SO DIFFICULT?

From: [identity profile] amorsinseramada.livejournal.com


"BOOO!!" to bad tippers!A pox on all their houses!
...or something like that.
Lo siento, chica. People can be so cheap. Believe me when I say I KNOW it isn't you. You know good service like the back of your hand. Maybe there is something in the water, cause like you said, the economy's no excuse.

That being said...I can't wait to see you! You want me to bring anything for the trip?
.

Profile

kiaxet: (Default)
Kiaxet

Most Popular Tags

Powered by Dreamwidth Studios

Style Credit

Expand Cut Tags

No cut tags