Or, Moose and Squirrel experience BBS firsthand.

[livejournal.com profile] lynxgriffin is being awesome and letting me watch the BBS cutscenes, so I figure I'll do a commentary of my own, like all the cool kids. 8D I've already seen a few of the cut scenes in a YouTube playthrough, so I'm starting right into Terra's story. We'll see how it goes from there. Obviously spoiler warnings are in effect.

- Xehanort, you are not okay. You're just not okay. Seriously.
- VANITAS IS EVEN CREEPIER AAAAAAA NOT OKAY
- "How about a legion of Heartless?" /finger waggle
- Sorry, Terra, You fail. /thumbs down Tactful, that.
- Oh please don't ask advice from the creper ;;;
- IT'S THE CLOISTER BELL OH NO
- That is the shiniest phone I have ever seen.
- Yen Sid, Former Keyblade Master? Yes please. :D
- Unversed = Dementors. CANNOT UNSEE.
- EX-PO-SI-TION EX-PO-SI-TION THROW SHIT OUT A-S-A-P
- Jeez, Eraqus, no pressure or anything
- Anger leads to hate, hate leads to suffering, etc etc etc, Eraqus is the entire Jedi Council.
- GO GO KEYBLADE RANGERS
- Wait, Terra gets Maleficent right in his first world? CAn we say "setting him up to fail?"
- And I'm sure Terra just attracts Unversed like a magnet at this point.
- "I've made up my mind, guys: I want a castle."
- YOU LIE, MALEFICENT. I can't say this is a surprise, but still. LIES! ALL LIES!
- TERRA, SHE HAS DEVIL HORNS AND GREEN SKIN. SHE IS NOT TO BE TRUSTED. QUIT LISTENING TO HER YOU MORON.
- "Excellent judge of character. Right."
- OH COME ON TERRA PLEASE DON'T BE THAT STUPID.
- Well, she has to get this info from somewhere and Wiki doesn't exist here, so...
- Wow, Terra's getting screwed over right off the bat, isn't he.
- Screwing with his darkness counts as "pulling strings." :|
- Wow, I never thought I could hate Maleficent more than I already did. Damn.
- Oh, Terra, no you won't. We already know that from KH. ;;;
- So far, the theme of Terra's story seems to be "Show up, get manipulated, screw people over while manipulated, blame self, rinse, repeat." Let's see if this holds true.
- "But here in Mickey's imagination, beauty and love will always prevail."
- Terra: master of the Shakespearean aside.
- Terra: just not getting it. I can completely see him bringing her back a glowy sphere heart in that box and her just going, "... ._."
- "Her heart is pure light. She's the one." Or she's just as dumb as you are. They are not mutually exclusive. :/
- Sorry, Queen, the magical nomming mirror isn't physically possible
- OR MAYBE IT IS
- Amazing what you can do with a vial of Nickelodeon slime!
- "Look, you beat me up. I'm not giving you any mnore info. :|"
- Oh hey, that wasn't as bad as I thought! How long until the other shoe drops?
- Bawwwwww Cindy D:
- Wow okay Terra that is not the philosophy to take with a girl upset about her dress. Total guy move. :|
- Fairy Godmother: Don't worry, man, I got this. :|b
- I love how Terra is just ridiculously confused by this entire scene.
- Terra comes from the dream school of Tiana.
- Fairy Godmother is officially my favorite character in this game. Win at Life, man.
- brb shamelessly shipping Cinderella/Terra.
- OH BAW WHY ARE YOU SO CUTE
- Wow there is nobody at this ball. She's either really early or reeeeeally late.
- Why are you so surprised whenever Unversed show up?
- Evil!Music!Boss is pinging J in allllll the wrong ways. YOU'RE NOT SUPPOSED TO DO THAT WITH MUSIC D:
- WHO WAS THAT MYSTERIOUS BOY IN THE MASK? TUNE IN NEXT WEEK TO FIND OUT!
- Yeah, midnight always comes faster than you think, doesn't it.
- The prince is useless, hon. Everyone knows that. He gets less screen time than the mice.
- Well there goes my shipper high.
- I will never be able to look at Xehanort without waggling my fingers and going "A legion of Heartless!"
- Suddenly, Mickey!
- Aaaaaand back to your regularly scheduled Terra. That was brief.
- Hey, I will totally put up with Mickey's impetuousness if it means he'll save my ass in later boss battles. :Db
- GET OUT OF MY HEAD D8
- OH BULLSHIT SIR YOU ARE A LIAR
- Oh, so it's vuh-NEE-tus. All I can think of is, "Vanitas darling" in my best Cruella voice.
- VEN D8
- I did not think it was possible to hate Xehanort even more. After that flashback, I'm amazed at just how wrong I can be.
- Okay, is Terra being precognitive here, or was that just for extra creepy flavor?
- OH GAD TERRA WHY ARE YOU SO DUMB ;~;
- "Your Elderness" OH TERRA
- POOH WILL MAKE YOU STRONGER, TERRA
- what is it with Kingdom Hearts and armor bosses?
- YAY MY FAMBLY!
- FINISH HIM
- "He said take two adults." ...we're not that old, are we?
- "Zazu, take Simba home." "Aww, dad, can't I come?" "No, son."
- TERRA WHY ARE YOU DOING DUMB THINGS. QUIT IT. AUGH.
- Oh Braig. Xehanort totally set you up.
- That is an artfully hung lampshade right there.
- KEYBLADE =/= ELDER WAND, BRAIG, SORRY
- For once in your life, Terra, you have the right id-
- NO YOU CAN GO HOME EVERYONE LOVES YOU THERE
- DON'T LISTEN TO THE CREEPER PLEASE
- Okay, I will give him the balance thing. That does make sense. EVERYTHING ELSE IS CRAP.
- TOGETHER, WE CAN RULE THE GALAXY AS FATHER AND SON
- Terra and Ven interacting now makes me want to cry. DAMMIT XEHANORT
- Your week? What are you, Braig? Franky?
- I swear, Terra has to yell, "Unversed!" at least once per world, because it's always a huge surprise when they show up.
- "I AM CAPTAIN PLANET DARK"
- Terra: /unimpressed face
- So we got you driving the Mach 5. Hope that's okay, man.
- Me: "No one's gonna vote for you, Pete! You're an Independent!"
Lynx: "Dude, I'd totally join the Terrapublicans."
- And that's your Wheel of Morality lesson for the week, folks.
- HERE I COME TO SAVE THE DAAAAAY~ MIGHTY TERRA'S ON HIS WAAAAAAY~
- "Games? But I just raced..."
- HI JAMES WOODS 8D
- Terra why do you listen to every Joe Evil who comes along
- "He was very charismatic."
- "Kind of Earthy" /badum-tish
- Hades: Oh hey you're a Final Fantasy character, aren't you. PERFECT 8D
- This isn't even Zack's canon and he still can't win. Man.
- THE INVISIBLE CROWD SHOUTS ITS APPROVAL
- "There's something else about you." /stares at Terra's ass
- At least it wasn't "Unversed?" this time.
- Wow, Terra, you really do listen to every schmuck that comes along.
- Stitch: Best pickpocket ever.
- Your asides are not as Shakespearean or aside as you think.
- Evidently Terra speaks Stitch.
- He runs into villains first thing everywhere he goes. Man, Terra, your luck sucks.
- "Last time I saw a box like that, someone asked me to put a heart in it."
- Okay, Terra's not exactly dumb; he's just naive as hell. I can't blame him if he's been living in the Land of Departure for years, but. Damn. :/
- "When Peter Pan gets here, I'll be waiting." To beat up an eleven year old.
- "Sounds like you've been tricked." FOR THE BILLIONTH TIME
- Okay, take a shot every time Terra says "Unversed!" in that surprised tone
- Pwned by a fairy. Favorite Neverland cut scene so far.
- The flashback is there to remind you just how far we've all descended into Hell. 8D
- See, Terra, you're awesome and so great with people when you're not tripping on angst or listening to villains. YOU FRUSTRATE ME SO ;~;
- It could well be warm because you're heading to a tropical paradise. Just sayin'.
- CONVENIENT PAOPU IS CONVENIENT
- I love how bitty!Sora is all "oh hey it's a Terra TO THE BOAT 8D"
- TERRA REALLY IS PRECOGNITIVE AAAAAAA
- That kid that left? He's screwing over the lives of everyone he meets. Running into him is going to suck.
- That was cute and vaguely creepy, given that bitty!Riku really doesn't know what he's getting into.
- Then again, Terra doesn't really know what he's doing either. It's the blind leading the blind.
- And after that respite of bitty!Sora-induced squee, TIME TO GO TO HELL 8D
- SERIOUSLY DUDE GET OUT OF MY HEAD THAT IS WRONG D8
- "But you must exist no more!" Wow, that's a pretty terrible place to come in.
- Oh this is going to end so, so poorly.
- AAAAAAAAAAAAA ;A;
- YOU BACKSTABBING SON OF A BITCH YOU KILLED HIM
- DAMMIT XEHANORD DAMN IIIIIIIT
- First your father died, now your home is being destroyed...and now you're walking into a trap. Again with the ending poorly.
- The last two cut scenes are called "The Last Bastion of Free Will" and "Return to Silence." Shit.
- Well, Terra, you know what they say about the road to hell.
- CREEPY TITLE CRAWL IS SO CREEPY
- Is that a secret Mickey in the Keyblade Graveyard? Talk about incongruous.
- And he has officially realized everything far too late.
- Thank you for that dose of COMMON SENSE, Aqua.
- "Put an end to me." I'm gonna cry. ;~;
- OH WHERE HAVE I SEEN THIS BEFORE
- OH RIGHT
- IN HELL
- And here we go
- DEATHLY FINGER WIGGLES ;~;
- Oh this part is never okay
- VEN WAS FROZEN TODAY
- At least the eyes aren't gold here...?
- OH GOD THE FINGER WAGGLING WHYYYYYY
- NO TERRA DON'T DO IT D8
- RUN TERRA
- RUN
- ...WHY DID YOU NOT RUN
- ...okay the silent armor is even scarier than the body snatching, and the body snatching made me scream ;A;
- And so, what? He wanders as a silent spirit in armor for ten years? Welcome to hell, Terra. D:

I haven't even finished the other two stories and I already want it to be KH3. Like, now. Doomed prequelitis indeed. ;~;

It's too late for me to watch through another story, so I shall get through Ven's and Aqua's later. After I fix the Terra-shaped hole in my heart. ;~;

From: [identity profile] memoryofpride.livejournal.com


Haha, yeah. It's not any easier to watch the second time around. They were also actually less creepy in the dub, if that makes you feel any better!


/evil giggle

From: [identity profile] memoryofpride.livejournal.com


Oh yeah, it's actually something I noticed right away. They're very properly evil in the dub, but the seiyuu were oozing slime and sleaziness from their very voices. Of course, the one for Fajitas Vanitas has only been playing goody-two-shoes up to this point and even Nomura was like "...he had way too much fun with it /nervous laughter"

And then the original Geezer is the dad of the guy who plays Youngernort... which is hilarious because Youngernort's actor voiced people like Solid Snake, Gabranth, OP's Blackbeard, etc. They both have reaaaaaaaallly long acting credits but off the top of my head I think the original Geezer's seiyuu has played Gold Roger and Big Boss. They're a pretty well-known son and dad team.

...It just makes it worse in this case.

EDIT: Oh yeah and most importantly. To me, the Geezer's 'I NEED AN ADULT' vibes are almost gone in the dub. Seriously. That's how bad the original was. Nimoy made him sound like a charming Grampa in comparison. Oh god seeing him put his hands on Terra's shoulders was just SO WRONG.
Edited Date: 2010-09-16 07:20 am (UTC)

From: [identity profile] memoryofpride.livejournal.com


*patpat* Entirely understandable.

Oh, man. Nah, he's a total vocal teddy bear in this version. Nimoy's voice is gruffer than the original Geezer's so it makes a huge difference. Same with Vanitas; he lost some of the slither from the original. Irino would soften his voice/hiss things to emphasize them/etc. His dub will likely be would be much easier to Draco in Leather Pants up than the sub might've been.

AGAIN WITH THE EDITS: Oh yeah!

-"He said take two adults." ...we're not that old, are we?

No. In the original it was "hogosha," which means guardian. Ven was basically calling them his parents ;-;

Also Nomura says Terra having those visions was "a directive nuance intended to portray the future" but fuck that, I love the precog idea. :|

I apologize to your inbox. I need to stop writing after I wake up.
Edited Date: 2010-09-16 05:58 pm (UTC)

From: [identity profile] memoryofpride.livejournal.com


It does, actually. I liked that a lot better, although it also gives up a little of the psychotic tone at the end since Nimoy isn't as used to hamming it up as the villainous duo is.

OH LOL I laughed at them the first time I saw them. Best trolling ever.

D'aw, I know. That was actually one of my sticking points for the dub (although honestly, there is no way they could've translated that any better than they did), so I couldn't resist commenting on it.

I KNOW RITE. I'll buy a lot from him if it makes his messes work, but that's just stupid...er. Yes.

Excellent! Oh, and I know you don't have a PSP, but would you want an English copy of the game for about half off? I might end up buying the Final Mix when it comes out in January, and there's no way I can justify having three copies to myself, even if this is my favorite game outside of the original. I'm not entirely decided yet, but just let me know.

And again with the edits.
Edited Date: 2010-09-16 06:40 pm (UTC)

From: [identity profile] memoryofpride.livejournal.com


Maybe it's because I'm perverse already that I found it hilarious... it all makes sense now.

Oh, no, please don't go to that trouble! I just realized I have a younger sibling to fob off my unwanted crap on, and I know he wants to get a PSP eventually. I'll just sell it to him instead. I appreciate it, though.

And I was going to say that they mostly did the best they could, but I've had and liked so much of the original source for so long (Terra's seiyuu is one of my favorites) that the bias was inevitable. It's why I'll just get the Final Mix so I can have the best of both. And more! Why, another armored figure? That's totally not going to affect the entire series or anything.

/eyeroll

(no subject)

From: [identity profile] memoryofpride.livejournal.com - Date: 2010-09-16 09:18 pm (UTC) - Expand

From: [identity profile] fuzzy-squish.livejournal.com


Actually...the empty armor just sits there. For eleven years. Then attacks Sora. >.>

From: [identity profile] fuzzy-squish.livejournal.com


Yeah...just a little. Has to be one of the creepiest things KH has thrown at us so far, aside from Master Xehanort himself. >.>

...;.; ...Oops...

Scary thing? That armor is at Terra's level for his final boss fight. IT'S A LEVEL 99+++++++++++ BOSS FIGHT FOR SORA.

From: [identity profile] fuzzy-squish.livejournal.com


XDDDD

It's a Nomura interview, and it really doesn't move that whole time. It just sits there, in the Badlands, waiting for something to happen (I guess). The reason it attacks Sora in Final Mix of KH II is because Terra picked Riku to get the Keyblade, so he suspects Xehanort (and the armor repeats the name "Xehanort" a few times before Sora fights it, too).

Terra, Ven, and Aqua are just that much stronger than Sora. Xigbar even says as much when Sora meets him: "You're nothing compared to those other Keyblade wielders." Actual gameplay feels like it, too. Even on Critical Mode around level 35ish Ven can clear the field of enemies in only a few seconds, way better than Sora can outside of Final Form.

From: [identity profile] memoryofpride.livejournal.com


Just passing by to agree that yep, this is from an interview. It was also obviously shown in Final Mix+ when Sora first finds the armor kneeling, and the dialogue makes the reason for the attack clear (...as clear as dialogue from Final Mixes introducing new concepts can be).

That sounds like Salvation. I loved Salvation.

From: [identity profile] fuzzy-squish.livejournal.com


Faith, Salvation, Tornado, Tornado Strike, Ars Arcanum, his Level 6 Finisher Stratosphere...Wingblade Command Style...

Ven kind of shows Sora up at juuuuuust about every turn. XD EVEN IN CUTENESS.

From: [identity profile] memoryofpride.livejournal.com


Oh man, you went all out on him. I hated Ven as a fighter (get out, fragile speedster!) so I only gave him Tornado and Salvation and coasted. I was too lazy to use Wingblade more than once, but it was nice.

AGREED. Haha, I like to point fun at the opening scene because out of the three Ven has the most books in his bookcase, and they're the thickest*. I bet part of that is from forced studying, but he probably also reads a lot more for enjoyment than Sora does if he even has time to :p Maybe Terra passed them down after he was done reading them.

*this could just be my faulty memory, though; I remember Roxas' room opening better than Sora's because I haven't played the beginning of KH in a long time.

From: [identity profile] fuzzy-squish.livejournal.com


Ven's the only one I played on Critical Mode, he's by far my favorite fighter of the three. XD Though HOLY FUCK Ghost Drive and Time Splicer with Aqua are the most badass things in Kingdom Hearts EVER.

Actually, I remember Sora's room being almost the spitting image of Ven's. For a few seconds I though Ven was on Destiny Islands.

Roxas' room doesn't count, it's fake. >.> He definitely doesn't have time to read much, if at all, and I don't think he does. Look at how many questions he has to ask about even ordinary things in Days. Sora spends his free time on the island playing, so I don't think he reads too much either.

(no subject)

From: [identity profile] memoryofpride.livejournal.com - Date: 2010-09-16 06:27 pm (UTC) - Expand

(no subject)

From: [identity profile] fuzzy-squish.livejournal.com - Date: 2010-09-16 07:57 pm (UTC) - Expand

(no subject)

From: [identity profile] memoryofpride.livejournal.com - Date: 2010-09-16 08:53 pm (UTC) - Expand

(no subject)

From: [identity profile] fuzzy-squish.livejournal.com - Date: 2010-09-16 09:03 pm (UTC) - Expand

(no subject)

From: [identity profile] memoryofpride.livejournal.com - Date: 2010-09-16 09:12 pm (UTC) - Expand

(no subject)

From: [identity profile] fuzzy-squish.livejournal.com - Date: 2010-09-16 09:36 pm (UTC) - Expand

(no subject)

From: [identity profile] memoryofpride.livejournal.com - Date: 2010-09-16 09:40 pm (UTC) - Expand

(no subject)

From: [identity profile] fuzzy-squish.livejournal.com - Date: 2010-09-16 09:45 pm (UTC) - Expand

(no subject)

From: [identity profile] memoryofpride.livejournal.com - Date: 2010-09-16 09:51 pm (UTC) - Expand

(no subject)

From: [identity profile] fuzzy-squish.livejournal.com - Date: 2010-09-16 09:53 pm (UTC) - Expand

(no subject)

From: [identity profile] memoryofpride.livejournal.com - Date: 2010-09-16 09:57 pm (UTC) - Expand

(no subject)

From: [identity profile] fuzzy-squish.livejournal.com - Date: 2010-09-16 10:00 pm (UTC) - Expand

(no subject)

From: [identity profile] memoryofpride.livejournal.com - Date: 2010-09-16 10:04 pm (UTC) - Expand

(no subject)

From: [identity profile] fuzzy-squish.livejournal.com - Date: 2010-09-16 10:05 pm (UTC) - Expand

(no subject)

From: [identity profile] memoryofpride.livejournal.com - Date: 2010-09-16 10:08 pm (UTC) - Expand

(no subject)

From: [identity profile] fuzzy-squish.livejournal.com - Date: 2010-09-17 01:48 am (UTC) - Expand

(no subject)

From: [identity profile] memoryofpride.livejournal.com - Date: 2010-09-17 05:01 am (UTC) - Expand

(no subject)

From: [identity profile] fuzzy-squish.livejournal.com - Date: 2010-09-17 05:04 am (UTC) - Expand

(no subject)

From: [identity profile] memoryofpride.livejournal.com - Date: 2010-09-17 05:08 am (UTC) - Expand

(no subject)

From: [identity profile] memoryofpride.livejournal.com - Date: 2010-09-17 06:23 am (UTC) - Expand

(no subject)

From: [identity profile] lynxgriffin.livejournal.com - Date: 2010-09-16 08:01 pm (UTC) - Expand

(no subject)

From: [identity profile] memoryofpride.livejournal.com - Date: 2010-09-16 09:01 pm (UTC) - Expand

(no subject)

From: [identity profile] lynxgriffin.livejournal.com - Date: 2010-09-16 09:16 pm (UTC) - Expand

(no subject)

From: [identity profile] memoryofpride.livejournal.com - Date: 2010-09-16 09:26 pm (UTC) - Expand

(no subject)

From: [identity profile] lynxgriffin.livejournal.com - Date: 2010-09-16 10:27 pm (UTC) - Expand

(no subject)

From: [identity profile] memoryofpride.livejournal.com - Date: 2010-09-17 12:41 am (UTC) - Expand

(no subject)

From: [identity profile] fuzzy-squish.livejournal.com - Date: 2010-09-16 09:42 pm (UTC) - Expand

(no subject)

From: [identity profile] fuzzy-squish.livejournal.com - Date: 2010-09-16 09:39 pm (UTC) - Expand

(no subject)

From: [identity profile] lynxgriffin.livejournal.com - Date: 2010-09-16 10:29 pm (UTC) - Expand

(no subject)

From: [identity profile] fuzzy-squish.livejournal.com - Date: 2010-09-17 01:48 am (UTC) - Expand

From: [identity profile] fuzzy-squish.livejournal.com


There's still hope...it's just in the other stories and the secret movie. ^_^

And yeah, for being 100% self-taught Sora's doing pretty god damn well for himself. XD

(no subject)

From: [identity profile] harpie-siren.livejournal.com - Date: 2010-09-16 11:01 pm (UTC) - Expand

(no subject)

From: [identity profile] fuzzy-squish.livejournal.com - Date: 2010-09-17 01:49 am (UTC) - Expand

From: [identity profile] nalina.livejournal.com


So...

Feelin' glad you're not a Paixao mod anymore? 8D

Sob, I kinda want to punch Nomura.
.

Profile

kiaxet: (Default)
Kiaxet

Most Popular Tags

Powered by Dreamwidth Studios

Style Credit

Expand Cut Tags

No cut tags